A True Friend

One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Proverbs 18:24

 

To: A true friend, and those looking for one,

What does a true friend look like? Well, I’m glad that you asked. This past week reminded me of what a true friend really is.

Picture this.

You sit on an eleven hour flight home from your study abroad trip, hop on yet another plane, embrace your family at the airport and jump in the car.

You finally pull into your own driveway, unload your suitcases, and run up the stairs to see your two adorable puppies that are overjoyed that you’ve returned.

You set down your luggage and soak in the views of home. Your body is still running on the other country’s time and you didn’t sleep much on either plane.

Your phone beeps.

You see a text that reads, “IDK if you’re too tired, but I was wondering if you wanted to go grab coffee? I’d love to hear all about your trip.”

Would you go?

It would be more likely for a cow to jump over a moon than it would be for me to accept that invitation so soon after returning home from a long, exhausting, yet exhilarating trip. Yet that is precisely what one of my dearest friends did this past week.

We went out to a new bakery in town and she told me stories about her life-altering trip over cookies and pastries.

That is a true friend. A true friend is someone who makes time for you, someone who is thrilled to see you, and someone who shares their life with you as you share yours.

I am so grateful for the true friends in my life and I pray that God enables me to be one myself.

Not everyone who crosses your path will be a true friend, but when you find them, you have found a treasure.

Love, Emily

Leave a comment